Lilyvale is located on 176 Cumberland Street in Sydney, New South Wales
and was built in c.1845 for innkeeper Michael Farrell. Mr Farrell purchased the land on Cumberland Street in
1838 with the intention of building a gentleman's residence.
Over the years the building has been used as a tavern and a boarding house and has gone through several name
changes such as the Cumberland Hotel, Clare Tavern and Athol Blair.
In 1903 the Farrell family sold the property to the Crown. During the 1980's the building had a face-lift with
the original paint colours being re-applied and minor restoration work completed. Today, Lilyvale stands as a fine
example of Colonial Regency freestanding domestic architecture and one of the few remaining examples in the city
The cottage is a three storey double fronted brick residence built with traditional load bearing brickwork.
Timber was used for the framed floors and roof. Attic rooms can be found under the gabled roof and are lit by three
dormer windows. Inside Lilyvale is the original cedar staircase which leads to the upper level rooms. The style of
the building reflects New South Wales introduction of the 1837 Building Act by Legislative Council and the
subsequent Act of 1845 which was based on the London building Act of 1709. The legislation was aimed mainly at fire
prevention and resulted in many structures being built in a similar style to that of London architecture of the